Doing Something Really, Really Scary: Why I’m Going Travelling

I’ve got a bit of a confession to make.. I’ve never really been all that bothered about doing the whole travelling thing. Not to say that I didn’t want to see the world, but I’ve always pictured myself more as a floating-around-Rome-in-a-sundress-with-an-ice-cream type of girl, than a backpacking around Asia sort. Sure, I’ve always thought it would be cool to do, but cool in the same way as getting my nose pierced, or dying my hair bright pink; something that other, more cool people did. I like the finer things in life, such as Starbucks, candles and a double bed, so an epic backpacking trip with a bag the size of me isn’t the most obvious way to spend the next six months of my life.

So, what possessed me to quit everything I know to spend a month in Thailand, and five in Australia? Well, to put it bluntly, I met the one. The butter to my bread, the shampoo to my conditioner, the left to my right, whichever cringey cliché feels most fitting. When it ended, it’s fair to say that the rug wasn’t just ripped from under me, but my whole little world. Being the most hopeless romantic ever, I believed that if you could just find your Prince Charming, everything else would kind of fall into place, but once I was out of my lovestruck haze, I could see that, in reality, my life wasn’t making me happy, so maybe it was time to make a change. Being twenty two, and a graduate without a bloody clue about “the future” is a scary place to be, especially when your best friends start getting married/having kids/killing it in the workplace. So, after a couple of weeks of feeling sorry for myself and deciding that I was going to be on the shelf/Bridget-Jones-Without-Mark-Darcy forever, I decided it was time to get a bloody grip, take out a ginormous loan (oops), and go and see the world. Cinderella was going to don some walking boots (pink), and stop needing a prince to go to the ball with.

Koh-Tao.jpg

I’ll be spending two weeks on the island of Koh Tao… Have I found heaven?!

According to the highly reputable source of Pinterest, ‘the quickest way to acquire self-confidence is to do exactly what you are afraid to do’. Aside from being in a room full of waxworks/rats/mushrooms, I can’t think of anything more scary than spending six months on my own, with a backpack the size of me, travelling Thailand without knowing any Thai, and then heading to Australia with the vague idea of getting a job (or something). And this is the girl that had a mini meltdown on a three hour flight to Italy… I’m hoping to come back enriched, fulfilled, and with some sort of idea of what on earth to do with the sixty-ish years I have left on earth. But if not, I’ll settle for a bikini body, a tan, and a hot Australian surfer on my arm! It’s time to Eat, Pray, Love in the style of Julia Roberts in the 2010 film, only without the praying, and with considerably more vodka… So, come January 31st, I’m off to explore Bangkok, ride elephants in Thailand, party at a full moon party in Koh Phangan, surf in Sydney and learn to lasso in the outback! Here’s hoping that the big loan is worth it! I’ll be updating this blog as often as I can, and I hope you’ll tune in to read about my (mis)adventures!

Julia-Roberts-in-Eat-Pray-001

Julia Roberts being all Eat, Pray, Love… with elephants!

Leave a Reply

